Still Life Workshop

Busy weekend, too!  I enjoyed working in Katia Kyte’s oil painting workshop at Oregon Coast Community College last Saturday and Sunday.  It was quite different from seascapes, as we painted from ordinary objects. She was such fun and very inspiring. And, now I look at peppers, pears, and so on with a new appreciation.

This was my first try at painting shiny metal, too. So the spoon is quite the accomplishment. I’ve posted the first attempt, and the second, and it’s easy to see improvement. Except in the second painting, I have really ignored reality, making the spoon so much larger in proportion to the pear. It was very important to me, so I just naturally made it bigger. So it goes. Anyway, some interesting studies done over the weekend.

Leave a Reply

